About the Diocese

About the Diocese


The Diocese of Swansea and Brecon covers a large and diverse area. There’s a clue in the name! The majority of the population live in the City of Swansea but Brecon, as the geographical centre of the Diocese, is where you will find the Cathedral.

The Bishop of Swansea and Brecon is the Rt. Revd. John Davies. He was elected as the 9th Bishop of Swansea and Brecon in January 2008 having previously been the Dean. The Dean of the Cathedral is the Very Revd. Paul Shackerley. Here is a link to the Cathedral website: http://www.breconcathedral.org.uk/

“It’s essential for us to regularly, faithfully and prayerfully renew and refresh our own vision and measure it against our Lord’s call to be his disciples bearing much fruit.”
Bishop John


The Diocese, which is some 120 miles in from North to South, stretches from Beguildy in the North to the Gower Peninsula in the South. The northern part of the Diocese is predominantly rural with a number of attractive market towns, including Brecon. It includes most of the Brecon Beacons National Park and a rich variety of stunning landscapes. The southern part is a greater mix of urban and rural and includes both the City and County of Swansea and also the Gower Peninsula, a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Swansea, the second city of Wales, accounts for the bulk of the civil population of the Diocese and is the business, social, cultural, economic and commercial centre of the West Wales region. Brecon, in contrast, is an historic market and garrison town at the heart of Powys, and has a significantly different pace of life. The Diocese of Swansea and Brecon has a border with all five other Welsh Dioceses, as well as with the English Diocese of Hereford.


Before disestablishment the area that is now the Diocese of Swansea and Brecon was designated as the Archdeaconry of Brecon and formed part of the ancient Diocese of St. David’s. Our Diocese came into existence in 1923 and celebrates its ninetieth birthday in September this year.


English is spoken everywhere, but Welsh is still commonly spoken in a number of communities in, for example, the Deaneries of Llwchwr and Cwmtawe and in the old Brecknock area.


There are 2 Archdeaconries: Brecon and Gower with 6 Area Deaneries in Gower, and 5 in Brecon. There are about 200 churches. There are 75 stipendiary clerics and a small number of self-supporting priests. There is a wide range of lay ministries, the steady rise in which has allowed the Diocese to make better use of a wide range of strengths, skills and talent.